Some Facts You Need to Know About the Seven Sister States of India

Seven Sister States of India

In the Northeastern part of India lies the four states, generally known as the “Seven Sisters”. India has a total 29 number of states in all of its territory. But these seven state sisters are unique because of their geographical location. These states do share not only common borders but also have certain similarities in their political, social and economic attitudes. Combine, all of these states attract most of the tourists of the world, including the tourists of developed countries like America, Brazil, China, and Japan.

Here are the names of these Seven Sister States of India and some useful information and facts about them

Arunachal Pradesh

Myanmar surrounds this 24th state of India to the east, China to the north-east, Assam to the south and Bhutan to the west. In the north-east region, this state is the largest in terms of area. It has a total area of 83,743 The state has a total number of 13 districts, with 13.84 lakhs of the total population. Itanagar is the capital of Arunachal Pradesh. The languages spoken in this part of India include Neshing, Galong, Addi, Akka and many more. The main crop of this region is rice.

The state owns $2.651 billion of the economy, with a 35% population of this area is attached to agriculture. Out of the total cultivated area, 17% is under irrigation. One of the resources of this state is its vast forests which cover almost 62% of the total area of the state. According to the census of 2011, the literacy rate is recorded as 65%. The legislation here is unicameral. This part of India is hot in summer and very cold in winter. The average rainfall is recorded as 3300 cm.


Assam is generally known as the gateway to the north-east. It has a total area of 78438 The total number of districts is 23 in this state. The capital of Assam is Dispur. The population of Assam is 3.12 crore. There are several languages spoken in this part of India, but the popular languages are Hindi, Bengali, Assamese, and English.

Out of the total population, 63% of the labour force is utilized with agriculture. Rice is the main crop of this region. Forest covers 22% of the entire land of this part of India. All the seven sisters of India have higher literacy rates. The literacy rate of this region is quite high, at 72%.

Also Read: Why India Doesn’t Have a National Game?


Manipur is also called the ‘Land of gems’. It has a total area of 22,327 It has nine districts. The capital of Manipur is Imphal. It has a population of about 2.72 million as per the census of 2011. The main spoken languages here are Manipuri and English. The 88% of people who work in hills and the estimated 60% labour class in this part of India is dependent on agriculture, fisheries, and forestry. This one of the seven sisters of India has a percentage of 68.87% literate people in the state.


It is a Sanskrit word which means ‘the house of cloud’. It has a total of 7 districts. The capital of Meghalaya is Shillong. It has a population of over 29 lakhs. The main languages spoken in this part of India is Garo, Khasi, and English. The economy of this state is estimated at $4.29 Billion. Out of its total population, 80% of its population is engaged with Agriculture, maize, and crops of rice. This part of the seven sisters of India is known for its delicious fruits.


It has a total area of 21, The capital of this state is Aizawl. It has a population of over 11 lakhs. The major languages spoken here are Mizo, Kuki, and English. The strength of its economy is recorded as $2.015 billion. The 2011 census showed that the literacy rate in this region is 91.33%. Out of every 1000 masses, 947 are male.


It has a total area of 16, 579 The total number of districts in this part is 27. The capital city of this state is Kohima. It gained the status of the state in 1963. The population of Nagaland is recorded as 29.67 Lakh. The languages spoken here are Hindi, English and many more. 85% of the people of Nagaland is engaged with agriculture. The literacy rate is 74%.


It has a total area of 10,492 The total number of districts located in this state is 4. Agartala is the capital of Tripura. The population of Tripura is over 36 lakhs. The language spoken here is Manipuri, Kakborak, and Bengali.

Visiting these Seven Sisters of India can be fun for adventurer lovers and people who love to travel and explore new places.


Image Source: “”.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Exit mobile version